University to honour outstanding individuals

Stellenbosch Visio contributor Marlene van Niekerk is one of the six honorary doctorate recipients from Stellenbosch University (SU) for individuals who have made valuable contributions in the fields of medicine, literature, the performing arts, business, science, education and community development.

In making the announcement, the University cites their tireless commitment and extraordinary efforts to make a positive difference in people’s lives as resonating strongly with the vision of the institution. The recipients are the Rwandan paediatrician, Prof Agnes Binagwaho; the CEO of Artscape and activist for the empowerment of disadvantaged groups, Dr Marlene le Roux; the Group Chief Executive Officer of Women Investment Portfolio Holdings and champion of empowering women, Ms Louisa Mojela; the mathematician and scientific leader of international repute, Prof Daya Reddy; the author and recipient of numerous international literary awards, Prof Marlene van Niekerk; and the Chairperson of Umalusi and transformation educationist, Prof John David Volmink.

Binagwaho is to receive the Degree Doctor of Science (DSc) (Medicine and Health Sciences), honoris causa; Le Roux the Degree Doctor of Education (DEd), honoris causa, and Mojela the Degree Doctor of Commerce (DCom), honoris causa. The Degree Doctor of Science (DSc) (Science), honoris causa will be awarded to Reddy and the Degree Doctor of Arts and Social Sciences (DPhil), honoris causa, to Van Niekerk, while Volmink will receive the Degree Doctor of Education (DEd), honoris causa.

SU’s honorary doctorates are a way of acknowledging the remarkable work of individuals who are regarded as role models and an inspiration to Stellenbosch graduates.

The honorary doctorates will be conferred in 2021.