SA shines at Laureus Awards

The 20th edition of the Laureus World Sports Awards was held in Berlin, Germany on Monday night. South Africans featured prominently, and not only as nominees for awards. The host on the evening, Actor Hugh Grant chose to start the evening with words by former SA President Nelson Mandela, who said: “Sport has the power to change the world…”

Springbok winger Bryan Habanna added to South Africa’s celebrations on the evening by being named the latest Laureus Academy member the day before.

South Africa was represented at the Laureus Awards on the evening by Springboks skipper Siya Kolisi along with a few teammates. The Bokke were nominated in the Category: Team of the Year while Olympic and Paralympic swimmer Natalie du Toit was nominated for “Best Sporting Moment of the last 20 years”.

On the back of their inspirational World Cup triumph last year, the Springboks walked away with the coveted “Team of the Year Award”. The rugby world champions beat out Liverpool and the US Women’s National Football team for the Laureus Sports Team of the Year award.

The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award ceremony honouring individuals and teams from the world of sports along with sporting achievements throughout the year. It was established in 1999 by Laureus Sport for Good Foundation founding patrons Daimler and Richemont

For more features, events and happenings in and around Stellenbosch, subscribe to our newsletter.