Jan Boland Coetzee to receive honorary doctorate from SU

The well-known former Springbok rugby player, foremost winemaker and industry leader, Mr Jan Boland Coetzee, will be among the recipients of honorary doctorates from Stellenbosch University (SU). The University will be awarding 3 128 degrees and diplomas at its April graduation ceremonies next week. This includes 953 master’s degrees and 158 doctoral degrees.

Jan Boland in a jubilent mood on his farm Vriesenhof. (Photos supplied)

Six ceremonies are to be held in the Coetzenburg Centre at Stellenbosch from Tuesday, 2 April to Friday, 5 April 2019.

The University will again be awarding a record number of doctoral degrees. Together with the December 2018 graduation ceremonies (the two ceremonies form the 2018 academic year) 308 doctoral degrees are to be awarded – slightly more than the 305 of 2017.

Apart from Coetzee, SU will also be bestowing honorary doctorates upon a champion for transformation in education who has made outstanding contributions to science, engineering and education in Africa, Dr Shirley Ann Jackson; the Vice-Chancellor of Coventry University in the UK; Prof John Latham;  and the unofficial global guardian of numerical mathematics, Prof Lloyd N. Trefethen of Oxford University.

Coetzee will receive the degree Doctor of Science in Agriculture (DScAgric), honoris causa on Tuesday, 2 April at 17:00, Latham will receive the degree Doctor of Commerce (DCom), honoris causa on Wednesday, 3 April at 10:00, Jackson will receive the degree Doctor of Engineering (DEng), honoris causa on Wednesday 3 April at 17:00 and Trefethen will receive the degree Doctor of Science (DSc), honoris causa on Friday, 5 April at 10:00.

Coetzee is honoured, amongst others, for his pursuit of excellence in the development of technology and management in the South African wine industry, and in the crafting of fine South African wines; and for his engaged citizenship to improve the working and living conditions of farm workers. Jackson is honoured for her role as trailblazer in the academic sphere and her commitment to the transformation of higher education; for her outstanding contributions to science, engineering and technology; and Latham for his visionary, courageous and innovative leadership in skilfully steering his academic institution to greatness through troubling times. Trefethen is honoured for, amongst others, his remarkable scholarship and his astonishing body of work advancing the global popularisation of mathematics; and for generously sharing his expertise to help cultivate a new generation of mathematical scientists on the African continent.